Wednesday, March 28, 2012

Joe Maddon names Tampa Rays' starting rotation

The Tampa Rays revealed their starting rotation Wednesday naming James Shields, David Price and Jeremy Hellickson as the starters (in that order) for the first three regular season games beginning Friday, April 6th at home against the Yankees.

Matt Moore and Jeff Niemann, the last two in the rotation, will make their season debuts at Detroit in the Rays second series.

In naming the starters, Rays manager Joe Maddon said he and his staff took into consideration the entire month of April and not just the opening day.

The difference from last year is that Moore, who was brought up last September, replaces last year's starter Wade Davis, who has been relegated to the bullpen. Davis has expressed disappointment about not being part of the rotation, but has vowed to pitch strong.

No comments:

Post a Comment